Jolas, Beethoven, Schumann
Aix-les-Bains (73) Friday 24 November 2017 20h30 Congress Centre - Season outside of The Espace Malraux, scène nationale de Chambéry et de la Savoie Réservation : 04 79 88 68 20 | Site internet
Annecy (74) Saturday 25 November 2017 20h30 Bonlieu Scène nationale Réservation : 04 50 33 44 11 | Site internet

Duration: 80 minutes + interval

Great Romantic Impulses

This programme presents two major works from the classical repertoire. Beethoven’s Seventh Symphony was so well received at its première in 1813 that the second movement, Allegretto, had to be encored. The symphony relies upon an irresistible Dionysian rhythmic motif, first heard in the long, expanded introduction, which returns constantly, with vigour, vehemence or subtlety, in the course of the four movements, in which the composer develops a masterly art of melody. The Cello Concerto, which Schumann wrote in just two weeks, on his arrival in Düsseldorf in 1850, enabled him to reconnect with the instrument he had studied in his youth. It is regarded as one of his more enigmatic works. He revised it over and over again and it was not premièred until 1860, four years after his death.

The concert opens with the intimacy and fine humour of Franco-American composer Betsy Jolas’s Well Met Suite, which was premièred in July 2016 for her ninetieth birthday. It is the third version of a piece written in 1973, described by the composer as having been “conceived as the wordless evocation of a concert rehearsal. Entrance and setting up of bass, cellos and violas; tuning up, sight-reading, playing bits of duets and trios, but constantly disturbed by the seven violins practicing outside and who are finally made to quiet down.” A passionate teacher, like her own teachers Darius Milhaud and Olivier Messiaen, Betsy Jolas has remained an independent figure, resisting all influences, while remaining true to her legacies (Monteverdi, Schumann, Debussy) and following her own personal path.

Nicolas Chalvin, conductor
Anne Gastinel, cello



Well Met Suite (2016)


Cello Concerto in A minor, opus 129 (1850)


Symphony no. 7 in A major, opus 92 (1811/1812)