Kingdom of Sound

Debussy, Britten

Duration: 60 minutes – concert with presentation

Cine-concert as part of the Biennale Musiques en Scène Lyon 2018
and “Crazy Days” at the Auditorium de Lyon

Kingdom of Sound is an ambitious animated presentation of Benjamin Britten’s Young Person’s Guide To the Orchestra. Composed in 1946, Britten’s famous work, subtitled “Variations and Fugue on a Theme of Purcell”, was originally commissioned for an educational documentary film entitled Instruments of the Orchestra. Indeed, it provides a guided tour of the musical instruments of a full orchestra. ONE® – an Orchestra Network for Europe – challenged Computer Animation Arts students at the University for the Creative Arts in Rochester, UK, to produce an animated film based on Britten’s classic work, to be screened live alongside musical performances. The Auditorium de Lyon’s “Crazy Days” will feature the film version, presented by Phil Gomm, course leader Computer Animation Arts, UCA Rochester. For this concert the Orchestre des Pays de Savoie will be joining the Orchestre de Picardie and musicians of the ONE® network, under conductor Julien Leroy, winner of the 2014 “Talents Chefs d’Orchestre” ADAMI Prize. The programme opens with Debussy’s “ballet for children”, La Boîte à Joujoux, in the orchestrated version by André Caplet.


 With the support of Musique Nouvelle en Liberté (MNL) and in collaboration with the Orchestre de Picardie. 
An Orchestra Network for Europe ONE® project
Coproduced by Grame, Centre National de Création Musicale Lyon 

Julien Leroy, conductor
Phil Gomm, presenter
Orchestre des Pays de Savoie
Orchestre de Picardie


Claude Debussy

La Boîte à Joujoux (1913)
“a ballet for children”; orchestration by André Caplet

Benjamin Britten

The Young Person’s Guide To the Orchestra, Opus 34 (1946)
accompanying the Kingdom of Sound computer animation film (University for the Creative Arts, Rochester)