Rihm, Mozart, Chostakovitch
Voiron (38) Tuesday 20 March 2018 20h Le Grand Angle Réservation : 04 76 65 64 64 | Site internet
Albi (81) Thursday 22 March 2018 20h30 Scène nationale d’Albi Réservation : 05 63 38 55 56 | Site internet
Évian (74) Saturday 24 March 2018 20h La Grange au Lac - Season Musique à la Grange au Lac Réservation : 04 50 71 39 47 | Site internet
Annecy (74) Tuesday 27 March 2018 20h30 Bonlieu Scène nationale Réservation : 04 50 33 44 11 | Site internet

Duration: 75 minutes + interval

Nicholas Angelich: Mozart’s Piano Concerto no. 27

Nicolas Chalvin and the Orchestre des Pays de Savoie begin the cycle of Mozart piano concertos with the last one, no. 27 in B flat major, a work that reveals the composer’s inner ambiguities, with tears, dreams and smiles. It was first performed by Mozart himself early in 1791, the year of his death. The soloist in this concert will be Nicholas Angelich, who first achieved recognition through his admirable interpretations of the great Romantic concertos. Framing the Mozart concerto are two works tinged with a subdued melancholy. Ländler by the very prolific German composer Wolfgang Rihm (he has more than 400 works to his name!) was written in 1979. An elegiac melody unfurls slowly, dreamily, and we notice subtle dance-like and folk references. The exceptional violist and chamber musician Rudolf Barshai founded the Moscow Chamber Orchestra, the first chamber orchestra of the former USSR, which he led and conducted until he emigrated to Israel in 1977. He is particularly noted for his arrangements of the string quartets of his close friend Shostakovich, and the Chamber Symphony, which concludes this programme, is a fine version of the latter’s String Quartet no. 3.


With the support of Musique Nouvelle en Liberté

Nicolas Chalvin, conductor
Nicholas Angelich, piano


Wolfgang RIHM

Ländler (1979)

Wolfgang Amadeus MOZART

Piano Concerto no. 27 in B flat major K 595 (1791)


Chamber Symphony, opus 73a, arranged by Rudolf Barshai (1946)